National Medal of Honor Day

National Medal of Honor Day on March 25th recognizes all Medal of Honor recipients.


On March 25, 1863, Secretary of War, Edwin Stanton presented the first Medals of Honor (Army) to six members of  “Andrews Raiders” for their volunteering and participation during an American Civil War raid in April of 1862.


Created in 1861, the Medal of Honor is the United States of America’s highest military honor.  It is awarded only to US military personnel by the President of the United States in the name of Congress for personal acts of valor above and beyond the call of duty.


There are three versions of the Medal of Honor: one for the Army, one for the Navy and one for the Air Force, with personnel of the Marine Corps and the Coast Guard receiving the Navy version.


Since its creation, there have been 3,468 Medals of Honor awarded to the country’s soldiers, sailors, airmen, Marines, and coastguardsmen.


Need a new Flag?
Or Flagpole Parts?

We can help!
Let us know when we can help you with your Flag, Flagpole, and Flagpole Parts needs.

Red River Flags
(218) 443-0065
(800) 232-6169